The reverse grad school

comments 5
blog

DSC04661.JPG

I recently submitted a paper for review in a journal. The paper dealt with the null pronoun stuff that I’ve written here many times. A reviewer suggested that the article be rejected on the basis that s/he felt that it was “written by a grad student who has not had enough time to read what is out there on generative theory control and the pro-drop parameter.” The reviewer “strongly encourage[s] the author to persist, do some more reading, and try again in a while.”

The reviewer is correct, but misdiagnosed the source of the problem. I am not a grad student. So what is going on?

When we are born, a long process begins when we suck in everything what’s out there in the world, in our family, community, society, nation, and in the world; then we explore the history, humanity’s previous achievement, our values. Then we push. We work in some profession, to contribute something to others. A new generation will then, in some form, take advantage of our work. That can be simply that they ignore our work as useless and, thus, don’t repeat the mistakes. But once we reach an old age, a reverse process beings. I call it the “purge”.

I have followed two of my grandparents until the very end, one of the quite closely. What happens is that they gradually give up the world, or that they purge their mind of all the stuff that they once sucked in. At the very end, when my grandmother was close to 100 years old, she had purged almost everything. People end up where they once began, being surrounded by their closest family, or pictures thereof. Everything else, lost.

The same process takes place in grad school. In the beginning, there is an immersive sucking operation, in which we try to suck in everything that’s out there in our field, to master all the methods, to establish the connections, to examine what we really want to do, and, in the end, what we can indeed can or are able to do. So much stuff flows into our mind that it is, in retrospect, a huge achievement. What the reviewer saw in may paper was that this process had not yet completed.

But s/he misdiagnosed the problem. It was not that the process had not succeeded, but that I had undergone the reverse process. Let’s call it the “reverse grad school”.

As I’ve written in this blog, where I worked the intellectual landscape is very narrowly and tightly constrained, in a top-down fashion, by the university bureaucrats so that, for example, generative theory is considered unacceptable, unexceptionally, everywhere the whole country. It is a too “new” theory for Finland, basically because it adopts the natural scientific method for linguistics, still to be adopted in that country. The method itself was invented during the 17th century. I therefore made the decision, after a struggle, that it is not worth of my time and energy anymore. If a society is not able to adopt a natural scientific method in the 21th century, it is hopeless and has no future. Virtually everybody who thought natural scientific method is a worthwhile enterprise in linguistics had already left. So I quit working in the university (basically it was only teaching at that point) and left the country.

But what happens when you drop out from the university bureaucracy? The reverse grad school takes place. I started the purge, to unlearn everything. What had been indoctrinated earlier will all have to go.

You have an opportunity, after the dust settles, to see what is relevant and what is not. I “undid” most of the theoretical apparatus that I had once internalized, as I think it is simply worthless and distracts from the matters that are relevant in the long term. It is invented as a bureaucratic language for communication, and it serves the material interests of the participants, like the theory of the sun orbiting the earth once did for the Roman Catholic clergy. Managers’ views are adopted and boosted to keep the milking by taxation in place.

The minimalist program, for example, in and itself is interesting, but it fosters endless speculation on topics that I think is just worthless, all sort of “non-movement movement” analyses and absurd things like that, so much that if you work in that field you have to use a huge portion of your life’s limited resources to read, sort out, and comment that sort of crap. Why should we speculate if there is non-movement movement if many of the basic empirical generalizations of our data are still missing? Could you imagine Newton to formulate the laws of gravity if Tycho Brahe and Kepler had made wrong generalizations from the data, or ignored the details of the orbit of Mars?

Our field will have its Newton one day, but that man or woman needs to know what the facts are, and also in languages like Finnish, not just English or German. Newton required the corrects facts from the Mars’ orbit and Kepler’s laws. That was what made the breakthrough. (By the way, if you read Kepler’s books, his theories were simply crazy. But he had correct generalizations from the relevant data.)

Sure, there are people who think that a non-movement movement analysis is the way to go; but what I mean above is that if you work in a university bureaucracy, you have to use your resources to work with such stuff, simply because they emerge from the managerial level that you have to support no matter what. Yet, I believe that most people who give up being university bureaucrats will automatically drop much of the bureaucratic language for communication (“theories”) simply as idle liturgy serving the power structure and taxpayers milking operation.

Now a problem emerges, however, as I purged so much that I am currently without any theory whatsoever. That’s what the reviewer saw in my paper. I have no time, motivation and interest to play with managerial ideas that I see as wrong.

I see that there’s Merge, and I’ve seen Rizzi-style intervention effects in my data (see, for example, my paper on long distance case assignment in Lingua, “Long distance case assignment and intervention”). I see that there’s external Merge and internal Merge, but I have absolutely no way of knowing why there is internal Merge (EPP and the like). The last think I was able to say about EPP was basically that it’s there with no reason. At that point we’d need data from the brain processes themselves, which we don’t have. Future generations will have.

What the reviewer correctly observed in my paper is that I’d need to go to the grad school, precisely because I had been in the reverse grad school and purged it all out of my mind. I will not follow his/her suggestion, though.

What I should do is still very much open, and this is why I wrote this blog. Some people, when they are in my position, develop their own theory, publish it somewhere, and continue working on that intuition. There were, and still are, many breakaways from the generative tradition by people who then automatically drop out from that establishment. Generative semantics, the cognitive linguistics theory (the “space grammar”), LFG, all emerged in this way. These people first purged, and the built something. They were able to carve a hole in the establishment and emerge as independent scholars, still being able to force the rest to pay for their bills. I don’t know how that trick is possible. Possibly you just have to fool your handlers and managers for a while.

But what kind of theory?

 

As things stand now, I have no idea. I am doomed to write descriptive papers.

5 Comments

  1. Have you come up with a theory? It’s been a couple of months since you wrote this.

    You could just pick an interesting hypothesis from any theory, and then see what the Finnish data says about it — you could write descriptively, and when you need any technical apparatus, just define it in a footnote…either borrowed from someone, or self-created!

    Possible hypotheses:
    (1) from the Norwin Richards book that Hannu forwarded, can all of (Finnish) syntax be derived from phonology?
    (2) from Edwin Williams’ book that describes the F-clock (‘functional clock’), can all embeddings in Finnish be explained this way? (What Williams proposes is that there is a derivational ‘clock’, and at each ‘hour’ (say), all fragments in the derivational space get built up to the next level, at the same time. This predicts that something ‘bigger’ cannot be embedded under something ‘smaller’ — for example, a TP could not embedded under a VP that itself has not been built up to TP, or more. Let me know if you’d like the reference for the book.)

    Like

  2. Pauli Brattico says

    This is interesting point Anne.

    I still do think about this matter. I have very little idea of what the possible theory that would work for me would be like.

    But here’s a story. As I pointed out in my original post, my descriptive paper was heavily criticized for its lack of theory. In the end, I decided that the weight of all these reviews was so considerable that I had to include one. What ended up happening is that I embedded the GB-theory. The old GB-theory (of null subjects) is closest to where I get once I look at the Finnish data. Am I satisfied with this? Quite satisfied. As you suggested in your comment, what matters if it works, and it does. It works much better than any of the more recent/minimalist schemes, which do not work at all. But the problem is: the GB-theory is ugly and gives very little intellectual satisfaction. It is also a theory that is very hard to rationalize, why would it be true?

    A comment on William’s theory: and how would you explain LDCA in Finnish with this model? I suspect that the theory falls already right there.

    The phonology idea is rubbish.

    I recall no examples of anything from Finnish in which a phonological property would explain something.

    This sort of thing derives I believe from what I suggested above, especially once people get old they have the desire to find an intellectually satisfying explanation. I think Chomky’s minimalism is of the same variety: old people’s need to succumb into comfort and to ignore the ugly reality. I see the same tendencies in myself already. I cannot anymore seem to be able to do raw statistics processing or Matlab scripting. Skinner’s behaviorism was another example, a grant scheme of everything. Not to speak about the numerous neuroscientists who during their old age have become “philosophers”. The list goes on and on. Nothing useful ever comes from these endeavors, it’s the young people who will move us forward.

    Like

  3. I actually agree with you about the phonology thought — it’s not much better than trying to derive all of syntax from semantics….

    That’s good you found an old GB-analysis that works. Although GB has a lot of junk in it, there are some nuggets in there!

    I haven’t figured out whether LDCA in Finnish can be done with Williams’ approach. Anyway, I thought it was an interesting idea for how structure is built. Williams is one person who has consistently come up with ideas throughout his life, so for him this is not an example of ‘old age theorizing’.

    I also agree with you that Chomsky’s minimalism may derive from something like what you suggest, and I think Kayne’s theorizing about word order falls in the same category.

    Like

  4. Pauli Brattico says

    It would be very useful to construct a numbered list of theoretical ideas that receive some support from Finnish, and those which don’t. If I have time in the future, it could be a useful project.

    For example:
    -Finnish LDCA => phase theory; junk (not possible to seal off derivations before C).
    -Finnish LDCA etc. => locality, economy; all totally meaningless garbage.
    -Need syntactic conditions,not phonological or semantic/pragmatic.
    -Finnnish as a pidgin language (meaning plus words) => can’t accept at all
    and so on.

    On the positiove side we have:
    -c-command;
    -agreement as syntactic condition working in many places;
    -null elements;
    -pronouns grammaticalize structure (<= this is the most interesting questin to me, why different pronouns grammaticalize different syntactic notions, including of course also null pronouns?).
    and so on.

    Then this draft could be worked out into a manuscript and cited in all future studies as a "background theory".

    Like

Leave a comment